mixed emotions

So I came home from a great date with the improv chick, and was in a fantastic mood.

And then I discover that a few hours earlier, I had an IM from a friend of mine.

I’m not going to go into the details of it, because this friend seems to think that everyone talks about them in their blogs, and I don’t want more drama. But let’s just say that this was the last straw. It was an incredibly impersonal way to tell me something that should have been very personal.

I’m so glad that I’m moving. Every day it seems like people who I thought were my friends are turning out to disappoint me. Maybe I’m the disappointment.

~ by Matt Stratton on April 1, 2005.

10 Responses to “mixed emotions”

  1. I’m sorry to hear about that. You aren’t a disappointment!

    Are you definitely moving? When?

  2. people are tragic and boring.
    fuck ’em all.

  3. Concentrate on the great time you had and forget people who suck. I can’t wait to see you tomorrow!! 🙂

  4. Even our good friends let us down from time to time. Mostly we forgive them and continue on as normal, this doesn’t seem to be one of those times for you. Sorry.

    Good news is that you will have lots of diversions this weekend in Sunny (highs in the 80’s) California! I can’t wait to see you tonight!

    *hug*

  5. “And then I discover that a few hours earlier, I had an IM from a friend of mine.

    I’m not going to go into the details of it, because this friend seems to think that everyone talks about them in their blogs, and I don’t want more drama.”

    That’s funny, I was going to leave you an IM complaining that people don’t talk about me enough in their blogs. Bastards.

  6. Well, I think it’s all okay. I heard from the friend, and they apologized. It’s all good I suppose.

    But even better is the fact that I get to see Teh Kathay in just a few hours. Hot.

  7. Freaking LJ drama. I’ve dropped some of my real life friends from my blog because I consider them paranoid and they consider me not respecting of privacy. In the long run, it’s YOUR journal,..defriend them and move on.

  8. Just to let you know I still think you rock.

  9. fyi, this is a real life friend who does not livejournal.

    But this friend is friends with a lot of my LJ friends, so I know if I posted details, it would get back to them.

  10. friendships require energy inputs on both sides. . .it’s a 2-way street. could it be that all of your energy is being invested in an easterly direction, and that your friends here feel this disengagement and are reacting to it? sometimes when i feel distant from my friends all it takes is for me to invest some energy in the relationship and things improve.

    i guess another way of looking at it is that you create your own reality. if you decide your chicago friends don’t like you, then i would bet the ranch that’s what you experience.

Leave a Reply

 
