Lah dee dah…

Hanging in Minneapolis right now. Surfing teh intarwebs from a local lesbian coffee shop (I’ve been here for about four and a half hours now, but I figure I’ve earned my wifi by consuming three double mochas, a muffin, and a sandwich).

Last night Emmysue and I went to the Mall of America to engage in some ironic tourism. Then we had good sushi. And listened to jazz at the Dakota. Fun.

IMG_0407

Tonight we’ll be having snarky conversation with some of her friends and playing Trivial Pursuit.

I will be back home on Saturday.

~ by Matt Stratton on November 3, 2005.

16 Responses to “Lah dee dah…”

  1. Is that her good side?

    Dear God, no more America please.

  2. That is NOT Emmysue. It’s just some random fat lady at the Mall of America.

  3. That is NOT Emmysue. It’s just some random fat lady at the Mall of America.

  4. LOL! That’s mean.

    I know that is not Emmysue, Matt. Or else she was wearing an AMAZING corset-device all the times I’ve met her.

  5. LOL! That’s mean.

    I know that is not Emmysue, Matt. Or else she was wearing an AMAZING corset-device all the times I’ve met her.

  6. Not Funny. Karma sucks. The only thing worse than thin people who think making fun of overweight people is funny is when men who aren’t so slim themselves think it’s funny. It’s total bullsh*t.

    You know. I could just shut up and not say a word about it, but then I wouldn’t be me. I think you are being shallow in many ways and should reconsider. You are a nice guy, but I can’t get over just how superficial and sexist things like this are. Like the fact that a broke woman who weighs “a buck o five” but can’t even call on time is more attractive to you than someone who you might have more in common with.

    I realize that you are no different than most of our culture this way, and that it is accepted in the world at large, but I don’t submit myself to this kind of judgement willingly, and I wouldn’t do this to you, or any other person. Whatever, continue to value people based on what they look like, because we all are going to be ugly as hell at some point before we die. Ok, I’m too mad to make sense and I realize I’m not being reasonable here.

  7. Not Funny. Karma sucks. The only thing worse than thin people who think making fun of overweight people is funny is when men who aren’t so slim themselves think it’s funny. It’s total bullsh*t.

    You know. I could just shut up and not say a word about it, but then I wouldn’t be me. I think you are being shallow in many ways and should reconsider. You are a nice guy, but I can’t get over just how superficial and sexist things like this are. Like the fact that a broke woman who weighs “a buck o five” but can’t even call on time is more attractive to you than someone who you might have more in common with.

    I realize that you are no different than most of our culture this way, and that it is accepted in the world at large, but I don’t submit myself to this kind of judgement willingly, and I wouldn’t do this to you, or any other person. Whatever, continue to value people based on what they look like, because we all are going to be ugly as hell at some point before we die. Ok, I’m too mad to make sense and I realize I’m not being reasonable here.

  8. you know what i find odd?
    that ridiculously fat people think its okay to criticize my smoking.
    i.e. “no self control, they’re kililng themselves”
    regardless, that picture totally inspired a fast.

  9. you know what i find odd?
    that ridiculously fat people think its okay to criticize my smoking.
    i.e. “no self control, they’re kililng themselves”
    regardless, that picture totally inspired a fast.

  10. I agree that smokers also deserve to not be called out by every person, and ridiculed and laughed at, but that is less common.

    One difference is the ability to quit for good.

    http://www.heartpoint.com/smoking.html#Some%20numbers%20about%20smoking

    Unfortunately the number of people who ever lose a significant amount of weight for 5 years or more, especially those who are morbidly obese are MUCH lower. There are also effective medical treatments to help you quit smoking, such as patches, pills, and gum. There are no significantly effective treatments to improve the odds of long term weight loss with the one exception of gastric bypass surgery.

    In short, live and let live.

  11. I agree that smokers also deserve to not be called out by every person, and ridiculed and laughed at, but that is less common.

    One difference is the ability to quit for good.

    http://www.heartpoint.com/smoking.html#Some%20numbers%20about%20smoking

    Unfortunately the number of people who ever lose a significant amount of weight for 5 years or more, especially those who are morbidly obese are MUCH lower. There are also effective medical treatments to help you quit smoking, such as patches, pills, and gum. There are no significantly effective treatments to improve the odds of long term weight loss with the one exception of gastric bypass surgery.

    In short, live and let live.

  12. That picture would have been taken had it been a large man or a large woman. It was a reflection of American excess at the “largest mall in America”. Not a “look at how funny fat women are”.

    It’s not saying that all overweight people are funny and ugly. It’s more of a statement about the Mall of America. Clearly that didn’t come through.

  13. My photo of the Mall of America:

    http://www.muttlaugh.com/photos/ULHS2004/164_6446

  14. i’m not a big fan of the pic, because that’s not too far off from what i look like from behind (without the kid, of course). so i don’t like thinking that if i were a stranger to you, that might be a photo of me if you saw me on the street.

    i also think it’s funny that you “ate a muffin” in a lesbian coffee shop. but maybe that’s just me.

  15. Yeah. Well I’m sorry for being unreasonable and touchy on this topic. I’m glad that it wasn’t as sexist as I assumed anyhow.

  16. Yeah. Well I’m sorry for being unreasonable and touchy on this topic. I’m glad that it wasn’t as sexist as I assumed anyhow.

Leave a Reply

 
