A downside to the blogging culture

I discovered a problem shortly after I got Tivo.

I expected to be able to “pause” and rewind everything.

It still happens today – I will be in a movie, and miss something. I instinctively reach for my Tivo remote, and want to hit the “skip back” button to catch that last line. And then I realize I cannot.

Well, just now, I had a similar experience while reading a book. I’m reading The Know It All (a fantastic book about A. J. Jacobs’s attempt to read the entire encyclopedia), and was given pause when I realized I couldn’t “comment” in the book.

You know.

Like you would with a blog.

I’m really a nerd.

~ by Matt Stratton on January 11, 2006.

8 Responses to “A downside to the blogging culture”

  1. Hee. I’m sure there’s a dysfunctional web community that would be happy to read your comments.

  2. You know how when bluetooth headsets came out you’d see people talking to themselves and you thought they were crazy and then they turned their heads and it turned out they had a wireless headset on? And as time went on the headsets became more normal?

    The other day I saw someone talking to themselves and I said “sweet, bluetooth headset” and he turned his head and it turned out he really was just crazy.

    So we’ve come full circle as a society.

  3. See…the problem is, I wanted to comment back to the author…he was talking about the Book of Ecclesiastes, and I wanted to tell him the story about how my stepdad made me read then when I was in 4th grade.

  4. See…the problem is, I wanted to comment back to the author…he was talking about the Book of Ecclesiastes, and I wanted to tell him the story about how my stepdad made me read then when I was in 4th grade.

  5. I always do it with the car radio.

    A plus is that a desire to comment to the author or make what we in education call a “Text to Self” connection means that you are a proficient reader. Congratulations!

  6. I always do it with the car radio.

    A plus is that a desire to comment to the author or make what we in education call a “Text to Self” connection means that you are a proficient reader. Congratulations!

  7. It doesn’t matter if it’s a book, or a blogger-doodle. I only read the last line of anything, and I have to say, I totally agree with your point. You are spot on with this entry. You hit the nail on the head. No argument here. I bow to your knowledge base. I curtsy to your wisdom.

  8. It doesn’t matter if it’s a book, or a blogger-doodle. I only read the last line of anything, and I have to say, I totally agree with your point. You are spot on with this entry. You hit the nail on the head. No argument here. I bow to your knowledge base. I curtsy to your wisdom.

Leave a Reply

 
