Yay bonus!

I’m not going to go spend-crazy with my bonus from work, but I do think I deserve this new toy:

Sceptre 20″ Wide DVI LCD

Sceptre offers space-saving LCD monitors that display sharp, brilliant images. “X” series monitors are energy-efficient flat panels for Professional and Home Users.

Display:

* Screen Size: 20.1″ WSXGA TFT LCD
* Resolution: 1680 x 1050
* Pixel Pitch: 0.25mm
* Brightness: 300nit cd/mΒ²
* Contrast Ratio: 800:1
* Output Color: 16.7 million colors
* Viewing Angle: 176Β° H/176Β° V
* Response time: 8ms

Input Connection:

* DVI 24-pin connector
* VGA 15-pin mini D-Sub

Additional Features:

* Speakers
* Audio In

General:

* Dimensions: 17.5″W x 14.75″H x 9″D
* Weight: 18lbs.
* Power Supply: AC100-240V, 50Hz/60Hz
* Warranty: 1 Year Limited

~ by Matt Stratton on January 24, 2006.

16 Responses to “Yay bonus!”

  1. Please…for the love of God, TEST IT FIRST.

    My day job wanted to get us all large flat panels for testing purposes. They bought a lot of 10.

    All cables are prefabbed and cnanot be detached from the chassis

    Image quality sucks.

    Doesn’t play nice with Macs or Extention cables.

    And we’re stuck with ’em.

    tes drive, please πŸ™‚

    / end PSA

  2. LJ has been logging me out lately, despite my preferences….sorry.

  3. Good advice. I was looking at this monitor in person at Costco last night – I’ll give it a really good check-out before I pony up the dough, though. It looked pretty good in person, but I didn’t give it a thorough going-over last night.

  4. You have been logged out of LJ a bunch lately because they are updating their cookie structure.

    More details.

  5. You have been logged out of LJ a bunch lately because they are updating their cookie structure.

    More details.

  6. Not to sound like a bad person here.

    But why not use your bonus money to get your eyes done????

    I don’t know what you get for a bonus, but you really want it done, and in the long run getting the LASIK actually saves you money.

    I pay about 200-400 a year for contacts depending on eye exams, solutions, brand I am using. And about 400 every 2 years on new glasses.

    I can get my eyes done with the same procedure for 5k, they might do it for less, cause my eyes aren’t that bad and I don’t need everything, but everyone gets the same charge.

    To me seeing with out contacts or glasses, saving money that you spend on them is way better then a very cool flat screen monitor.

    Plus you could save up probably faster for the monitor then for the surgery.

    JUst my 2 cents

  7. Not to sound like a bad person here.

    But why not use your bonus money to get your eyes done????

    I don’t know what you get for a bonus, but you really want it done, and in the long run getting the LASIK actually saves you money.

    I pay about 200-400 a year for contacts depending on eye exams, solutions, brand I am using. And about 400 every 2 years on new glasses.

    I can get my eyes done with the same procedure for 5k, they might do it for less, cause my eyes aren’t that bad and I don’t need everything, but everyone gets the same charge.

    To me seeing with out contacts or glasses, saving money that you spend on them is way better then a very cool flat screen monitor.

    Plus you could save up probably faster for the monitor then for the surgery.

    JUst my 2 cents

  8. Well, the monitor is only a couple hundred bucks.

    For my LASIK I need another $2,200. But I’m always waiting to hear if there’s any specials from my eye doctor. My bonus is not all going towards this monitor; I don’t want to give details, but the price of the monitor is a small fraction of my bonus, so it’s just the one “toy” I am allowing myself out of it πŸ™‚

  9. Well, the monitor is only a couple hundred bucks.

    For my LASIK I need another $2,200. But I’m always waiting to hear if there’s any specials from my eye doctor. My bonus is not all going towards this monitor; I don’t want to give details, but the price of the monitor is a small fraction of my bonus, so it’s just the one “toy” I am allowing myself out of it πŸ™‚

  10. Yay Bonus! You should buy your self something pretty, you deserve it πŸ™‚

  11. Yay Bonus! You should buy your self something pretty, you deserve it πŸ™‚

  12. I’ve never seen that brand of monitor in review before, I’d be wary on buying it. You might want to check out Dell’s 20 inch widescreen, its around 550 bucks, and AWESOME quality. I’m ultra picky about my monitors, cause of the gaming thing, and I’m content to use this monitor at home AND at work. If you’re against getting a dell, I can do some research on that one for ya.

  13. Well, the Costco one is about $200 cheaper. I figure I’ll find out what their return policy is before buying it, of course.

  14. Well, the Costco one is about $200 cheaper. I figure I’ll find out what their return policy is before buying it, of course.

  15. I’d be wary of a monitor cheaper than a Dell, the only reason Dell’s monitors get that low is because they’re the evil empire.

    Looked at some reviews. Seems this model has some serious power supply issues and vertical tearing issues when playing video, as well as some dead pixel issues on shipping. If you’re going to pick it up, get a good return policy and/or warranty on it.

    http://reviews.cnet.com/Sceptre_X_20G_Naga_II_flat_panel_display_TFT_20_1/4864-3174_7-31115689.html?ctype=msgid&messageSiteID=7&messageID=1488479&cval=1488479&tag=uolst
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16824112158&ATT=24-112-158&CMP=OTC-C173T

  16. I’d be wary of a monitor cheaper than a Dell, the only reason Dell’s monitors get that low is because they’re the evil empire.

    Looked at some reviews. Seems this model has some serious power supply issues and vertical tearing issues when playing video, as well as some dead pixel issues on shipping. If you’re going to pick it up, get a good return policy and/or warranty on it.

    http://reviews.cnet.com/Sceptre_X_20G_Naga_II_flat_panel_display_TFT_20_1/4864-3174_7-31115689.html?ctype=msgid&messageSiteID=7&messageID=1488479&cval=1488479&tag=uolst
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16824112158&ATT=24-112-158&CMP=OTC-C173T

Leave a Reply

 
