Backyard coming along nicely…

So for the past four or five weeks, I’ve been playing gardner and trying to get the grass to grow better in our backyard.

I was feeling frustrated, until Carrie referred me to a picture from when we first moved in. As you can see, it’s vastly improved.

Before:

— from Daisy331

After:

— from mugsy1274

~ by Matt Stratton on May 2, 2006.

6 Responses to “Backyard coming along nicely…”

  1. Whoa! Nice work!

  2. what’s your secret???

  3. Photoshop? 😉

  4. That’s an awesome improvement. Now you should make yourself a Home Depot commercial. 😉

  5. I’ll tell you what I did, and what I learned.

    First, I raked up all the bare spots to break up the dirt. Then I planted grass seed EVERYWHERE (not just the bare spots). What I *should* have done was then rake AGAIN to turn the soil over and get the seed deeper in the ground.

    I then watered it every day for two weeks. A lot of the grass started growing, but also a lot of spots remained bare. I discovered why one day – the friggin’ birds were eating all the grass seed that was on the surface!

    A few weeks later, I bought some Scott’s PatchMaster stuff. Basically, it’s fertilizer, mulch, and grass seed mixed in. In went to the remaining bare spots, broke up the dirt, and put down the patch. I continued to water twice a day.

    Also, every couple of weeks I spray the lawn with Scott’s Liquid Turf Builder. That made a HUGE difference; all of the existing grass was super green about two days later, and the new stuff came up really fast afterwards.

    The biggest trick is the watering – it’s best to make sure you water it in the morning, so that it soaks into the soil and doesn’t evaporate off. Otherwise, the grass doesn’t grow deep enough roots, and it can come up much easier.

  6. nice job, looks great!

Leave a Reply

 
