Yes, but is she hot-swappable?

This was the conversation today at lunch. Jeff and I were talking about using Google Calendar, and synchronizing it with our phones, etc. John was laughing at us for making our scheduling lives more complicated.

Fat Johnny: I have Lotus Notes at work. And at home, I have my wife.
Jeff: Do you have some kind of HA solution for your wife?
Matt: Yeah, what happens if your wife goes down?
Fat Johnny: I write it on the calendar.

~ by Matt Stratton on May 4, 2006.

7 Responses to “Yes, but is she hot-swappable?”

  1. I’ve now spent the hour playing with Google calendar. I love it! Google’s so wonderful… How did we survive before google?

  2. haha, that’s awesome.

    i am also in love with google calendar. and was wondering… is there an easy way to sync it with my phone? i’m sure i can figure out how to do it if i started out with (example) an Outlook calendar and then made sure that one was imported into Google Calendar (i could then probably just sync outlook to my phone), but I stay as far away as possible from using one tied to my computer and like keeping it online with Google. Is there a way to take it from Google to my phone without accessing the web every time? πŸ˜€

  3. Here’s how I do it:

    I subscribe to my Google calendar(s) in iCal on my Mac. I have my RAZR set up to sync with those calendars via iSync.

    The problem is, it’s a one-way process. Everything comes “down” from Google. If I create a new event on my phone, it will never get into the Google calendar. Same thing with iCal; if I create an event there, it won’t get into my Google calendar (which I don’t mind – the only reason iCal is even in the equation is to provide a conduit from Gcal to iSync).

  4. any idea how I can set this up to sync through my PC? or should I just make DJ do it for me?

  5. gah! audra won’t have a mac of her own for at least a year or two. πŸ™‚

  6. Make DJ do it.

    If I offered up any advice he’d just flame me when I got it wrong anyway πŸ™‚

  7. hmm… i made some failed attempts last night… but i think i got it to work just now! searching for “outlook subscribe to google calendar” helped. πŸ˜€ i’ve now successfully added my google calendar into outlook. syncing to my razr should be a cinch from here.

    thanks!!

Leave a Reply

 
