OK, now I’m starting to get a little…something…I don’t know…

The wedding is actually, factually, THIS WEEK now. Like, this Saturday. Crazy.

I’m sure you’re all looking forward to it, so that my LJ can go back to being about photography, the Cubs, and Scout. Only a few more days you’ll have to put up with this. And I swear, I’m guy. It’s so funny – everyone I work with really likes to play into the stereotype of “the guy just wants to know when to show up.” Well, I got news for you – I’m an organizer. I like to be involved. And mostly, I don’t want Carrie to be upset and/or disappointed. So I think that whole “guys shouldn’t care about wedding planning” nonsense is just that – nonsense. I also think it’s selfish and douchey.

Moving along – pretty good weekend. On Friday night Carrie and I walked down to Bowman’s for a bite to eat, and ran into

, who was there to be trained on how to give out free drinks in a cute orange dress. We had a fun time chatting with her, and then headed home to work on, you guessed it, crafty wedding stuff.

Yesterday was a crazy day. Carrie and I got up early so I could go “practice” run for the JPMorgan Corporate Challenge 5K this Thursday – we went to the park, and she threw the ball for Scout for an hour while I ran around the park. I am so NOT prepared for the race; I only managed to run about 3.5 K. And since it looks like it is going to rain on Thursday night now, I will probably bail on the 5K.

After our park time, we ran a bunch of errands, and then hung out with Chris at home for the rest of the afternoon. Carrie went out to her sister’s house, and my mom and sister came over for dinner and helped finish tying ribbons on our programs. I cleaned the house and packed up a few more things to bring the hotel. It was quite a productive day.

Today I am going to Side Street around 3 PM for Chris’s “going away” drinks, and Carrie and her dad have a dance lesson with Julee. Tonight I am driving down to Midway to pick up Dallas and Devon, and that’s about it.

Keep your fingers crossed for nice weather this weekend!

~ by Matt Stratton on May 20, 2007.

5 Responses to “OK, now I’m starting to get a little…something…I don’t know…”

  1. Well, with all of this wedding talk, we’ll at least be expecting pictures – lots of pictures! (;

  2. If you will, I’d like to offer some wedding day advice.

    Enjoy it. Soak up the memories. Make sure you take the time to enjoy what is going on. Over the years to come, it is those memories that will stick with you through good times and bad. We did just that with all of our attendants, our parents, and friends on our wedding day. It really made a difference for us!

    Oh, and eat when you get the chance!! We found out the hard way that once people get to the reception everyone will want a bit of your time to congratulate you, and you won’t get a chance to eat. So… be selfish.

    Do not to lock your knees… keep them slightly bent so you won’t faint and keel over on Carrie. (Tex nearly forgot this, so we worked out a secret signal between the two of us….. squeezing each other’s hand repeatedly was our reminder to keep breathing and not lock our knees.)

    Best wishes to you and your beautiful bride for a long and loving marriage!

  3. Great that you are involved! Phillip almost made more decisions than I did, and it really made the event special for all involved. I second the suggestion to eat! We didn’t eat at all at the reception except for the cake, and by the end of the night we were a little loopy. I am so looking forward to seeing pictures.
    Enjoy your life together, and enjoy the ceremony!! It passes so fast…

    -Sending HappyWeddingThoughts up Chicago way.
    Ashley

  4. Yeah, I’ve heard the “make sure you eat” stuff before, so we’re on top of it. One of the things we’re doing is having yichud during the first 15 minutes of the cocktail hour – and I’ve already instructed the hotel that I want the yichud room fully stocked with all the appetizers they are passing out to the guests, as well as bottled water. So even if we miss out on dinner, we’ll at least have had that!

  5. im so excited for you!! congrats congrats congrats! heres hoping your day is as amazing as you two have planned it out to be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
