Boring old married couple

First of all, I’m sorry for STILL no blog post about the honeymoon. I swear, it is coming. We kept a paper journal and everything. But, um, we’re waiting until we get the pictures from our disposable camera developed. Yeah, that’s the ticket.

Other things…

Friday night, Carrie and I were considering going to Summerdance, but after talking to Lou at lunch, we decided to go to Taste of Randolph instead. We headed down there, and paid our $10 each “suggested donation” to enter. There we were met by a faulty ATM, lots of annoying River North types, and lines of at least 30 people for EVERY food vendor. And don’t even ask about the drink ticket/beer line; I swear it was about three blocks long.

We stopped by the Big City Swing booth and chatted with Lou and Julee for a few minutes, got frustrated with the crowd, and went home. We had dinner at Sticky Rice (a place we’ve driven by loads of times, but never went in). It was really, really good. The food was tasty and super cheap, and the bright and sunny interior perked us right up.

On Saturday we returned some things to Bed Bath and Beyond, and cashed in a lot of gift cards in order to purchase our pots and pans. We got a nice set of Calphalon that we’re excited about. I would tell you more specifics, but I am getting tired of people second-guessing every decision I make, so if you really want to see our pots, please come visit 🙂

Saturday night we had a two-fer of parties – Carrie’s friend Jayme had a housewarming at her new condo, and then we attended a going-away party for Nathan (who is going to work in Australia for four months). Had fun playing beanbags at Jayme’s (and some crazy good appetizers), and then at the going-away party had my first “professional” flippy-cup experience (they called it “flip cup”, but I know that’s wrong). I turned out to be quite good at it, although my team lost almost every single round because ONE dude on our team was really bad. But we had fun.

On Sunday we took Scout to the park for a while and let him run. Then we met Ellie and Kevin (and Kate) for lunch in Lincoln Square. From there, we headed out to suburbia for Fathers Day. On  the way, we stopped at Crate and Barrel to cash in gift cards and get our knives. They are Wusthof. We like them. Although they look very lonely (the block they came in has a lot of blanks!)

Fathers Day dinner was at my mom’s house, and then we all trucked out to Lisle to have dinner at my sister’s new condo. It’s pretty sweet. She has a big balcony that looks out over the forest. Carrie and I are looking forward to visiting her in the winter and using the sled hill.

So yes. That is the exciting life of the married couple. Sadly, I think that if you combine our newfound irritation with street fairs with us seeming to only hang out with each other with our new SUV, it all points to the fact that this time next year we’ll be living in the suburbs.

Adios, City Matt!

~ by Matt Stratton on June 18, 2007.

24 Responses to “Boring old married couple”

  1. any place called sticky rice just has to be good.

  2. any place called sticky rice just has to be good.

  3. I didn’t think Shawn and I could GET any more boring, but somehow we did. I am hoping it’s a momentary thing.

  4. Here, lemme make your life more exciting.

    I’ll be in Chicago next week, the last week of June. Wanna come talk to my kids about improv or something?

  5. Congratulations on your Wüsthofs. It’s what I use.

    As much as I love kitchen toys, you don’t need a whole block unless you bone a lot of fish (get your mind out of the gutter) or have other specialized tasks you do often that call for specific gear other than chef’s and paring knives.

    If you’ve got a Chef’s knife, bread knife, carver and fork, a 3″ and/or 4″ paring, and shears, you have enough forged steel for most any prep you can think of. I’ve been doing a lot of home cooking with a 10″ Chef’s, 5″ Santoku, and 3″ hollow-ground paring for the past two years and change. Buy open-stock, one at a time, as you find that you need them.

    Also, get a honing steel and a sharpener. Chef’s Choice makes a good one for about $80. Cook’s Illustrated talks about it every so often.

    Other useful things I use often are a stainless dough blade for scraping and moving from the cutting board into the pan, 12″ OXO Good Grips tongs, and Pyrex silicone spatulas.

  6. Congratulations on your Wüsthofs. It’s what I use.

    As much as I love kitchen toys, you don’t need a whole block unless you bone a lot of fish (get your mind out of the gutter) or have other specialized tasks you do often that call for specific gear other than chef’s and paring knives.

    If you’ve got a Chef’s knife, bread knife, carver and fork, a 3″ and/or 4″ paring, and shears, you have enough forged steel for most any prep you can think of. I’ve been doing a lot of home cooking with a 10″ Chef’s, 5″ Santoku, and 3″ hollow-ground paring for the past two years and change. Buy open-stock, one at a time, as you find that you need them.

    Also, get a honing steel and a sharpener. Chef’s Choice makes a good one for about $80. Cook’s Illustrated talks about it every so often.

    Other useful things I use often are a stainless dough blade for scraping and moving from the cutting board into the pan, 12″ OXO Good Grips tongs, and Pyrex silicone spatulas.

  7. Congratulations on your Wüsthofs. It’s what I use.

    As much as I love kitchen toys, you don’t need a whole block unless you bone a lot of fish (get your mind out of the gutter) or have other specialized tasks you do often that call for specific gear other than chef’s and paring knives.

    If you’ve got a Chef’s knife, bread knife, carver and fork, a 3″ and/or 4″ paring, and shears, you have enough forged steel for most any prep you can think of. I’ve been doing a lot of home cooking with a 10″ Chef’s, 5″ Santoku, and 3″ hollow-ground paring for the past two years and change. Buy open-stock, one at a time, as you find that you need them.

    Also, get a honing steel and a sharpener. Chef’s Choice makes a good one for about $80. Cook’s Illustrated talks about it every so often.

    Other useful things I use often are a stainless dough blade for scraping and moving from the cutting board into the pan, 12″ OXO Good Grips tongs, and Pyrex silicone spatulas.

  8. Don’t move to the suburbs! You’re not boring, you’re an exciting urban couple. I’ve created a mathematical proof to help clarify, Suburbs = Mega-Sucky

    (although that does not include Evanston and Oak Park, they are technically acceptable “suburbs.”)

    bb

  9. Don’t move to the suburbs! You’re not boring, you’re an exciting urban couple. I’ve created a mathematical proof to help clarify, Suburbs = Mega-Sucky

    (although that does not include Evanston and Oak Park, they are technically acceptable “suburbs.”)

    bb

  10. It happens to the best of us – but your so dang happy you don’t care! Enjoy it!

  11. It happens to the best of us – but your so dang happy you don’t care! Enjoy it!

  12. Our Wusthoff knives are going to be pretty lonely too. We plan to just have the santoku (maybe a chef’s knife), paring knife, bread knife, and steak knives. LOve love love the santoku and paring knives, they work great!

  13. Our Wusthoff knives are going to be pretty lonely too. We plan to just have the santoku (maybe a chef’s knife), paring knife, bread knife, and steak knives. LOve love love the santoku and paring knives, they work great!

  14. We got some steak knives as wedding gifts – after we got the Wusthof, Carrie said “maybe we should return those and get Wusthof steak knives”.

    Then we looked and saw that the steak knives that match our cooking knives cost $50 each.

    So, in a nutshell, we’re keeping the ones we were given 🙂

  15. We got some steak knives as wedding gifts – after we got the Wusthof, Carrie said “maybe we should return those and get Wusthof steak knives”.

    Then we looked and saw that the steak knives that match our cooking knives cost $50 each.

    So, in a nutshell, we’re keeping the ones we were given 🙂

  16. We got some steak knives as wedding gifts – after we got the Wusthof, Carrie said “maybe we should return those and get Wusthof steak knives”.

    Then we looked and saw that the steak knives that match our cooking knives cost $50 each.

    So, in a nutshell, we’re keeping the ones we were given 🙂

  17. We *HEART!* our Calphalon stuff, so I won’t second guess you on that (ooooo, though le Creuset is nice! And it comes in ORANGE! (o;), but I’m totally second guessing your move to the burbs, Mr Man! Unless, like bb said, you’re considering the too-hip-to-be-called-“‘burbs” ‘burbs of Evanston or Oak Park.

  18. There are times I miss the city , but I am so much a burby girl now since I got remarried.
    I guess the burbs are what you make of them, and I stay out in the burbs for the whole school situation. I am sure any neighborhood that has Mr Matt moves into will have it’s “hip” factor go up a great deal.
    Plus the city is so close, that getting your city fix is not all that hard.

    OHHHHHHHHHH I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Jealous about the cookware and great Knives.
    As soon as my last child moves out I am investing big cash in better pots and pans and great knives. Right now the tax dependants do the dishes and I am forever finding my cookware and such in the dishwasher. So until they are all gone I am not having them ruin anymore nice kitchen items.
    My next big investment will be a Kichenaid stand mixer. With all the baking I do it will be worth the $$$$ for the ease in things.

  19. There are times I miss the city , but I am so much a burby girl now since I got remarried.
    I guess the burbs are what you make of them, and I stay out in the burbs for the whole school situation. I am sure any neighborhood that has Mr Matt moves into will have it’s “hip” factor go up a great deal.
    Plus the city is so close, that getting your city fix is not all that hard.

    OHHHHHHHHHH I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Jealous about the cookware and great Knives.
    As soon as my last child moves out I am investing big cash in better pots and pans and great knives. Right now the tax dependants do the dishes and I am forever finding my cookware and such in the dishwasher. So until they are all gone I am not having them ruin anymore nice kitchen items.
    My next big investment will be a Kichenaid stand mixer. With all the baking I do it will be worth the $$$$ for the ease in things.

  20. There are times I miss the city , but I am so much a burby girl now since I got remarried.
    I guess the burbs are what you make of them, and I stay out in the burbs for the whole school situation. I am sure any neighborhood that has Mr Matt moves into will have it’s “hip” factor go up a great deal.
    Plus the city is so close, that getting your city fix is not all that hard.

    OHHHHHHHHHH I am SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO Jealous about the cookware and great Knives.
    As soon as my last child moves out I am investing big cash in better pots and pans and great knives. Right now the tax dependants do the dishes and I am forever finding my cookware and such in the dishwasher. So until they are all gone I am not having them ruin anymore nice kitchen items.
    My next big investment will be a Kichenaid stand mixer. With all the baking I do it will be worth the $$$$ for the ease in things.

  21. Being an old married couple is wonderful 🙂 I highly recommend it.

    There are advantages and disadvantage to living in the city vs. suburbs (and in different parts of the city/burbs.) I hate my long commute, and the metra schedule sucks when it’s not rush hour, but I love walking my neighborhood full of trees and flowers with all the variety you see when they’re planted by families, and not gardners working in boxes. Running/biking on the Prairie Path is better than at the lake shore. It sucks not being able to easily walk to the nearest bar/grocery/bakery, but I like the pretty little downtown areas of the suburbs that were once towns in their own right (you know, where you don’t have to walk in deep shadowed canyons created by the ridiculously tall buildings on either side), and I like it that parking is not an issue most of the places I go (for instance, home.)

  22. And BTW, although every time I’ve been to a street fair in Chicago, they sucked, they actually have some rather nice ones in some of the burbs.

  23. And BTW, although every time I’ve been to a street fair in Chicago, they sucked, they actually have some rather nice ones in some of the burbs.

  24. heheh,yes they are crazzeeee expensivo for steak knives. I’m thinking about finding some that are less costly but similar looking in the handle.

Leave a Reply

 
