Goodbye, wedding presents…


Flood
Originally uploaded by Matt Stratton.

I fully realize that 6 inches of water in the basement does not constitute a crisis on the same level as many other people have experienced in their life, but it still sucks. Especially when you realize that your insurance does not cover flooding.

Long story short, our basement flooded yesterday, and with it, we lost a good chunk of wedding gifts, six years worth of Carrie’s school supplies, and some irreplaceable stuff – including the digital masters for Dancing With Gaia as well as all the miniDV tapes from all Gravy Train Films productions.

It’s all gone.

~ by Matt Stratton on June 27, 2007.

28 Responses to “Goodbye, wedding presents…”

  1. Oh. Shit. I’ve had that happen to me twice now. Sorry you lost so much.

  2. :o( So sorry.

  3. I’m so sorry!!! How awful for you guys. 😦

  4. oh no! I’m so sorry *hugs*

  5. ugh, i’m so so sorry to read this…sure it’s not the worst thing, at least you’re both still alive and healthy, scout too, but nobody should have to deal with that kind of a loss…it just makes me ache, i have all kinds of 35mm film and photos that i could never replace if such a thing happened to us…

    and with flood insurance, if you’re not in a flood plain, i don’t think you even qualify to GET flood insurance…it’s a huge load of crap!

    i’m sorry…

  6. ugh, i’m so so sorry to read this…sure it’s not the worst thing, at least you’re both still alive and healthy, scout too, but nobody should have to deal with that kind of a loss…it just makes me ache, i have all kinds of 35mm film and photos that i could never replace if such a thing happened to us…

    and with flood insurance, if you’re not in a flood plain, i don’t think you even qualify to GET flood insurance…it’s a huge load of crap!

    i’m sorry…

  7. oh man… that’s awful. i’m so sorry mugs!!

  8. Wow, that sucks really big donkey balls. So sorry you lost all that stuff.

  9. That’s awful!

  10. Oh no! I am so sorry… that happened to me a few years ago… and while it isn’t the *worst* thing that could happen, it still sucks… I lost a lot of irreplaceable items as well… mostly vintage clothes, shoes, & hats… now, even in the house I store all my stuff elevated off the floor and in these things

  11. Oh no! I am so sorry… that happened to me a few years ago… and while it isn’t the *worst* thing that could happen, it still sucks… I lost a lot of irreplaceable items as well… mostly vintage clothes, shoes, & hats… now, even in the house I store all my stuff elevated off the floor and in these things

  12. oh, mugs, that sucks so hard. Glad that you are all ok though!!

  13. oh, mugs, that sucks so hard. Glad that you are all ok though!!

  14. That sucks!!!

  15. That sucks!!!

  16. Oh no! ):

    I’m so sorry to hear that. I remember a number of basement floods that I’ve gone through over the course of my life, and it’s just awful.

  17. oh wow. so sorry for you both. i’m glad the two of you are ok and have each other…. but man. suck.

  18. oh wow. so sorry for you both. i’m glad the two of you are ok and have each other…. but man. suck.

  19. So sorry! That absolutely sucks. If there is anything I can do to help, let me know.

  20. So sorry! That absolutely sucks. If there is anything I can do to help, let me know.

  21. Major suckage. 😦

  22. I’m so sorry! That really does suck. 😦

  23. I’m so sorry! That really does suck. 😦

  24. That sucks giant, hairy donkey balls.

    Sorry so much irreplaceable stuff got put asunder. 😦

  25. That sucks giant, hairy donkey balls.

    Sorry so much irreplaceable stuff got put asunder. 😦

  26. whoa, i’m so sorry. *hug* that sucks. right after i graduated from college, my mom’s basement flooded… i had just moved into her house, and all my belongings were in the basement temporarily, so i lost most of my clothes, several hundred record albums, photos, you name it. i know how much it hurts.

    if there’s anything i can do to help you, let me know.

  27. Oh dude that really sucks!

  28. darn sorry to hear about the flood . Not a fun time for sure
    We have had a few small floods in this house so now everything is up and in plastic

    Sorry to hear about all the stuff you guys lost

Leave a Reply

 
