Baseball musings

I’ll have more to say later. Right now, just some quickies:

1) I have turned off my phone, and will most likely not be taking calls at least until Monday. If you really have to reach me, call Carrie.

2) I honestly can’t say that I expected them to get to the NLCS, especially not after Thursday night. I did, however, expect them to pretend to fight.

3) It’s a shame the June Cubs showed up and not the September Cubs.

4) This is 99% the fault of the offense. Especially the “big guns”. I’d like to think they’re ashamed of themselves, but I’m sure they’re being comforted tonight by sleeping on a big pile of money.

~ by Matt Stratton on October 6, 2007.

4 Responses to “Baseball musings”

  1. My frustration:

    * Marmol is untouchable the entire regular season and chooses the playoffs to pitch like a human

    * They showed the stat of LOBs for Fonsie, DLee and Ramirez…big fat zero

    * Is it realistic to expect the same level of regular season production next year from Theriot?

    Like you, I didn’t think they were good enough to make it through but it just felt like a huge let down, and I seriously think they need to do something about the way the first round of the playoffs is structured. A division winning team should get a guarantee of more than one home playoff game. One of the radio guys up here suggested they put two wild card teams in, have then play a best of 3, then the winner and the 3 division champs play best of 7s. I don’t know…but it just felt over before it began.

  2. My team suffered a humiliating loss today too, albeit in a different sport. Keep your chin up, your head held high. I feel your pain.

  3. Well, the White Sox have been playing golf with the Blackhawks for the past week.

    I was there in ’83, ’93, and ’00. I had hopes for your guys this year, but the Cubs seemed to have hired Greg Walker as their hitting coach for the NLDS.

    I’d had doubts about Lou Piniella and his a fit with the Cubs as anything more than providing colorful YouTube clips, but he really was able to turn the team around during the stretch. So while a ‘wait’ll next year’ may seem patronizing and a little hollow, I think, and for your sake, hope, that this year it may carry a little weight.

  4. Well, the White Sox have been playing golf with the Blackhawks for the past week.

    I was there in ’83, ’93, and ’00. I had hopes for your guys this year, but the Cubs seemed to have hired Greg Walker as their hitting coach for the NLDS.

    I’d had doubts about Lou Piniella and his a fit with the Cubs as anything more than providing colorful YouTube clips, but he really was able to turn the team around during the stretch. So while a ‘wait’ll next year’ may seem patronizing and a little hollow, I think, and for your sake, hope, that this year it may carry a little weight.

Leave a Reply

 
