Good news, everyone!

I actually mean that too – not in a Farnsworth way.

This post is f-locked for obvious reasons. Anyway, I got a great phone call yesterday on the L on the way to the airport: I got a new job!

Starting two weeks from Monday, I will be the new Manager of IT Operations for a company that will be named later (I don’t want to say it until I start, but it’s an online company based in Chicago). It’s a significant pay bump, plus more responsibility. I will be giving my notice on Monday morning. Here’s hoping my boss doesn’t stick me with the “all people with VP title must give four weeks notice” crap.

Carrie and I are in NYC for the weekend. We’re very excited about everything.

~ by Matt Stratton on October 20, 2007.

32 Responses to “Good news, everyone!”

  1. Congrats! I’m glad you are moving on up.

  2. Congrats! I’m glad you are moving on up.

  3. Congratulations!

  4. that rocks! married to a beautiful girl, new exciting job, and camping! your life is just kicking ass left and right, ninja ❤

  5. that rocks! married to a beautiful girl, new exciting job, and camping! your life is just kicking ass left and right, ninja ❤

  6. Yay! Congratulations!

  7. Yay! Congratulations!

  8. woo hoo! congrats!

    sounds like the new job bug is going around recently… good to hear you’re in the crowd, too!

  9. woo hoo! congrats!

    sounds like the new job bug is going around recently… good to hear you’re in the crowd, too!

  10. woo hoo! congrats!

    sounds like the new job bug is going around recently… good to hear you’re in the crowd, too!

  11. Fantastic! Congratulations, indeed.

  12. Fantastic! Congratulations, indeed.

  13. yay matt! i’m so happy for you!! i say you use to extra money to come visit kc. 🙂

  14. yay matt! i’m so happy for you!! i say you use to extra money to come visit kc. 🙂

  15. Ditto congratulations!

  16. Ditto congratulations!

  17. congrats! i hope it goes well. (BTW – the whole “required # weeks notice” is just to remain “rehirable.” so if you can’t give their required notice, then they will flag you as ineligible for rehire. no big deal if you never plan to go back there.

    congrats again!

  18. congrats! i hope it goes well. (BTW – the whole “required # weeks notice” is just to remain “rehirable.” so if you can’t give their required notice, then they will flag you as ineligible for rehire. no big deal if you never plan to go back there.

    congrats again!

  19. congrats! i hope it goes well. (BTW – the whole “required # weeks notice” is just to remain “rehirable.” so if you can’t give their required notice, then they will flag you as ineligible for rehire. no big deal if you never plan to go back there.

    congrats again!

  20. congratulations!!!

    again our lives align; i hope i’m next!

  21. congratulations!!!

    again our lives align; i hope i’m next!

  22. I gave my boss two weeks’ and he seemed okay with it, but pointed out that HR requires four. I called HR, and they were kind of vague (it might not apply to me because I’ve been here a while and it was before that policy, etc, etc), and hopefully I will get an answer today. I asked what the ramifications would be if I was required to give four weeks’ notice and only gave two, and the HR person said “well, in that case you’d have to work it out with your new company to start in four weeks”. Grr.

  23. I gave my boss two weeks’ and he seemed okay with it, but pointed out that HR requires four. I called HR, and they were kind of vague (it might not apply to me because I’ve been here a while and it was before that policy, etc, etc), and hopefully I will get an answer today. I asked what the ramifications would be if I was required to give four weeks’ notice and only gave two, and the HR person said “well, in that case you’d have to work it out with your new company to start in four weeks”. Grr.

  24. Congrats!

  25. Congrats!

  26. congrats, matt! you deserve it. we’ll buy you a drink or 20 when we come up in november. 🙂

  27. congrats, matt! you deserve it. we’ll buy you a drink or 20 when we come up in november. 🙂

  28. congrats, matt! you deserve it. we’ll buy you a drink or 20 when we come up in november. 🙂

  29. NO! they can not MAKE you work 4 weeks. Not at all. No. No no no. They have to pay you for all your time you work too. So if they say anything stupid like, “well, since you didn’t give 4 weeks, we aren’t going to pay you for the last week you were here…” they can’t. and they HAVE to pay out your vacation accrued so make sure you have an accurate balance printed out.

  30. NO! they can not MAKE you work 4 weeks. Not at all. No. No no no. They have to pay you for all your time you work too. So if they say anything stupid like, “well, since you didn’t give 4 weeks, we aren’t going to pay you for the last week you were here…” they can’t. and they HAVE to pay out your vacation accrued so make sure you have an accurate balance printed out.

  31. It all worked out. Apparently the policy only applies to SVP’s and new VP’s – us old folks are grandfathered in. So no problem. 11/2 is still my last day. Yay!

  32. It all worked out. Apparently the policy only applies to SVP’s and new VP’s – us old folks are grandfathered in. So no problem. 11/2 is still my last day. Yay!

Leave a Reply

 
