Keep on rockin’ inthe free world…

Carrie and I have joined the masses and gotten hooked on Guitar Hero. Our copy of GH3 for Wii arrived yesterday. It was very exciting. I spent about three hours playing yesterday, and have almost completed Career Mode on Easy (yes, Trapper, I know I’m a wuss). I’ll post our GH “Friend Code” when I get home tonight for those of you (read “Nando and Marcelo”) who have GH for Wii.

My only GH experience prior to this was playing at Kevin and Nora’s on their 360. Here are the differences I can tell:

1) The guitar for the Wii is cooler, in that the Wiimote plugs into it, so there is rumble during Star Power, and you hear a “missed note” sound come from the guitar when you mess up.
2) There is no downloadable content for the Wii (yet). So that means we’re stuck with the songs it comes with for now.
3) No “quick play” co-op mode. Which is no big deal right now, since we only have one guitar (and you can’t buy extra guitars until Feb or so)
4) The “encore” songs from Career Mode are only playable in Career Mode – supposedly this was true on 360 as well, but they made the songs downloadable. I haven’t tried using the unlock song cheat code yet to see if that reveals them in the other modes.
5) I guess the graphics are better on 360 than Wii, although I can’t see that being a major issue, since I wasn’t doing a lot of watching of the graphics.

It’s a LITTLE annoying to have to insert and remove the Wiimote from the guitar; I suppose if you had a dedicated Wiimote just for the guitar, it wouldn’t be that big of a deal. But for now, it means that for our second Wiimote, we have to remove the sleeve, and go through all the brouhaha to go back and forth. Probably not that big of a deal.

In other Wii news…my sister in law gave me DDR for the Wii for my birthday. We played it once so far – it’s fun, although you have to use your “hands” as well as the dance pad (swinging the Wiimote and the nunchuk). That’s hard.

~ by Matt Stratton on December 21, 2007.

23 Responses to “Keep on rockin’ inthe free world…”

  1. We have DDR for the Wii as well, and we turned off the Wiimote and nunchuk option because it wasn’t registering (I guess I wasn’t shaking hard enough?) and was giving me a lower score.

    Hey, I suck at DDR, so I need all the help I can get..

  2. We have DDR for the Wii as well, and we turned off the Wiimote and nunchuk option because it wasn’t registering (I guess I wasn’t shaking hard enough?) and was giving me a lower score.

    Hey, I suck at DDR, so I need all the help I can get..

  3. How did you turn off that option??? I couldn’t figure out how to do it.

  4. How did you turn off that option??? I couldn’t figure out how to do it.

  5. The encore songs in Career Mode are definitely playable in Quickplay. The boss battles are the only songs that are not playable in Quickplay.

    If you have a friend with the game, definitely spend a day going through Co-op career mode. There are a few extra songs on there that aren’t on the solo modes (like “Sabotage”). Nando has come over a few times for this very purpose.

    I was able to 5-star all of Easy and all of Medium, and I’m just getting into Hard mode now. It’s getting pretty tough to break 4 stars, let alone 5.

  6. The encore songs in Career Mode are definitely playable in Quickplay. The boss battles are the only songs that are not playable in Quickplay.

    If you have a friend with the game, definitely spend a day going through Co-op career mode. There are a few extra songs on there that aren’t on the solo modes (like “Sabotage”). Nando has come over a few times for this very purpose.

    I was able to 5-star all of Easy and all of Medium, and I’m just getting into Hard mode now. It’s getting pretty tough to break 4 stars, let alone 5.

  7. If DDR uses the wiimote, does it let you do the CabbagePatch???

    -Kevin

  8. It’s somewhere under “settings”, but I think it was under a crazy maze of menus. Look in the instruction booklet that came with the game, I think it has instructions on how to turn it off as well.

  9. It’s somewhere under “settings”, but I think it was under a crazy maze of menus. Look in the instruction booklet that came with the game, I think it has instructions on how to turn it off as well.

  10. I’ll look again, but I did read the booklet and dug through the settings (because I really REALLY wanted to turn it off). Maybe Teh Google will help.

  11. It has a weird name (it’s not “Maraca Mode” but it’s something similar to that) so maybe that’s why you’re not finding it. I haven’t played it in over a month so I forget the name of the option.

  12. It has a weird name (it’s not “Maraca Mode” but it’s something similar to that) so maybe that’s why you’re not finding it. I haven’t played it in over a month so I forget the name of the option.

  13. It has a weird name (it’s not “Maraca Mode” but it’s something similar to that) so maybe that’s why you’re not finding it. I haven’t played it in over a month so I forget the name of the option.

  14. What I could find online says this:

    Well, first go into free play mode (or whatever it’s called). Next, choose options instead of picking a song. You can turn the settings on or off from there.

    So it seems like you turn it off ad-hoc, rather than as a global setting. Well, better than nothing!

  15. What I could find online says this:

    Well, first go into free play mode (or whatever it’s called). Next, choose options instead of picking a song. You can turn the settings on or off from there.

    So it seems like you turn it off ad-hoc, rather than as a global setting. Well, better than nothing!

  16. Nobody I know who is local has GH for Wii, so until I can buy an extra guitar, there will be no co-op career mode for me (although I read something in one of the Amazon reviews where someone said something that implied that the game can be played with just the Wiimote and not using a guitar controller…hmm)

    I do find it annoying that there is no co-op quickplay…seems to lessen the fun for “party” gaming with it. We did a lot of co-op quickplay at Kevin and Nora’s the other night, and it was fun.

  17. Nobody I know who is local has GH for Wii, so until I can buy an extra guitar, there will be no co-op career mode for me (although I read something in one of the Amazon reviews where someone said something that implied that the game can be played with just the Wiimote and not using a guitar controller…hmm)

    I do find it annoying that there is no co-op quickplay…seems to lessen the fun for “party” gaming with it. We did a lot of co-op quickplay at Kevin and Nora’s the other night, and it was fun.

  18. I agree. No co-op quickplay seems like a really major omission. Like they just forgot it or something.

  19. I agree. No co-op quickplay seems like a really major omission. Like they just forgot it or something.

  20. I had an aversion to the Wii version of DDR, as the game was a part of my past akin to a drug addiction. That aside, once driven to play it by friends, I promptly turned off the hand motions. It’s better to turn those off, as well as “freeze arrows.”
    0_o
    Oh and um, it’s too bad you have to be playing GH3, as the other versions were more endearing.

  21. Apparently this was the case in the 360 version at first too, but they fixed it with a patch. Because, you know, they can do that with the 360, since it can friggin’ download content.

  22. Apparently this was the case in the 360 version at first too, but they fixed it with a patch. Because, you know, they can do that with the 360, since it can friggin’ download content.

  23. Apparently this was the case in the 360 version at first too, but they fixed it with a patch. Because, you know, they can do that with the 360, since it can friggin’ download content.

Leave a Reply

 
