What’s been going on

This will be terse (maybe) since I’m trying to squeeze this in between a bunch of work stuff I should be doing.

We’re making progress on our exodus from the city. On Saturday we had a yard sale and got rid of a bunch of stuff. We then loaded up the Fay with boxes and dropped them off at the new house.

On Sunday we packed up most of the kitchen stuff, and then loaded both Fay and Civic with boxes (and Scout) and drove off to the new house. We unloaded boxes and left Scout in his new house while we went to IKEA.

We got a bunch of stuff at IKEA (new desks for both of us as well as a bunch of bookcases for the office) and dumped it in the garage. We picked up Scout and headed back home.

Our official moving day is Sept 20. We are hiring our favorite movers to take care of all the furniture moving, but if anyone wants to be helpful, I could use some assistance putting together all of our IKEA furniture that evening. 🙂

~ by Matt Stratton on September 8, 2008.

4 Responses to “What’s been going on”

  1. i so wish i could help. i don’t admit this often, but putting together ikea stuff is my secret passion. love those little allen wrenches!

  2. Put it together yourself furniture is (sadly) one of my greatest passions. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll be able to get out much with the kids and busy schedule. But good luck!

  3. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh moving and furniture assembly 2 of my least fav things . Yet i have moved so many times in my life. Kinda funny huh

    My job on moving day is and has been making sure the crew eats well. The rest I am told to stay out of.

    Good luck on the move . Congrats on the house. after nearly 4 years in mine I’m finally starting to like what it has become

  4. Get a Fixa tool kit with the bit set from the Home Organization department and a 12v DeWalt drill from Home Depot. Makes assembly a snap.

    I’ve put so much of the stuff together I don’t even look at the instructions anymore.

    Then again, I do work for them.

Leave a Reply

 
